top of page

Living in Vietnam as a foreigner!

Author Kim Rockman

This is my personal experience living in the Southeast Region of Vietnam in the Dong Nai Province. Here are my top 7 things every person should know about Vietnam.


1. The Weather.

Vietnam has 3 distinct seasons:

Hot and dry from March to June.

Rainy from June – November.

Slightly cool and dry from December to February.

April is the hottest month, with mid-day temperatures reaching up to 33°C. Usually, there are mosquitoes in abundance during the rainy season and flooding in the streets.

2. Language Barrier.

The Vietnamese language spoken is a tonal language which means words are affected by the tone with which the vowels are pronounced. One word spelled the same can have multiple meanings, all determined by how you change the tone and emphasis the vowels. I tried getting my students to teach me but, I suck at articulation.

3. Food.

You will find stalls on the side of the round set up with tiny tables and chairs selling fresh Pho, A noodle soup consisting of broth, rice noodles, herbs, and meat, sometimes chicken. Pho is a popular Vietnamese dish. The food here is very fresh and sometimes so fresh that the animals are still alive. On my way to school, I find animals in cages being sold on the side of the road, not as pets but as food. You will see puppies and chickens crammed in cages alive! roughly about 20 puppies in one. Most markets that I pass by have dog meat for sale and, you can defiantly see it is a dog by the tail and facial features. I spoke to one of the locals to find out how they cook the dog, and she said that they just drop the dog into boiling water and cook it alive like lobster. In the market, the dogs would be displayed on tables alongside other types of meat. I moved into a new apartment not too long ago and, I must say I think there is a restaurant that sells dog meat close by because I constantly hear dogs scream/cry for a few mins and then it goes quiet.


4. Tourists.

Some markets and vendors will take advantage of the tourists by inflating the prices, which would triple the cost to make an extra buck. Things are remarkably cheap here! If prices seem like what you would pay in your home country, then you know you being ripped off. The cost of living, in general, is low and cheap.

5. Motorbikes.

Like Uber, Vietnam has its own version called Grab. Booking a car or motorbike is cheap. I usually use the Grab bike, and it costs me about 15000 VND, converted is 0.65 USD. I am from South Africa, and the conversion to Rands is R8.93.

Nobody follows the road rules! The Vietnamese people have formed a honking system that I am still trying to crack. I saw that entering a new street, you have to honk once and, when you ride past an intersection, you honk twice to let them know you are coming across.

Crossing the road is an experience on its own. I am not sure how I stayed alive! cars, trucks, motorbikes, do not stop for pedestrians! all you can do is walk at a slow pace through the crazy hustle of cars and motorbikes zooming by you. My tip is always to make eye contact and walk at a steady pace so that they can ride around you.

6. Construction.

Development is constantly popping up and, construction is everywhere you go. Safety is a big concern here. Construction sites are sometimes not closed off and, building materials are in the road or on walkways.

7. Locals.

The Vietnamese people are, without a doubt the, warmest and friendliest people I have ever met. I feel so at home in this country because everyone just welcomes you and is eager to help when you need assistance.

Please don't forget to leave a comment below. I would love for you to share your story with me!


Comments


bottom of page