top of page

Ways to stay positive in a dysfunctional world.

Author Kim Rockman

There are so many negative things happening in our world today and, it can be overwhelming at times especially following up on the news.

Here are some ways to control the amount of negativity you feed yourself daily.


Control the amount of news you receive.

I always feel anxious and stressed out after watching the news because all they report about are murders, fraud, corruption, and the increase of covid 19. I'm not saying eliminate it but, stay up to date with current affairs. I usually brush up on what's happening once or twice a week. I'm informed but not constantly consumed by the negativity.

Choose to be grateful and look at what blessings you have currently.

Keep a journal of all your successes or things that bring joy to you. Read and reflect each month on the positive things that are happening in your life. But remember to appreciate everything that happens no, matter the size.

Replace negative habits with positive habits.

At the beginning of the lockdown, I had a poor nighttime routine and, I often felt tired with low energy the next day due to going to bed at whatever time I felt sleepy which, would be after 1:00 AM each night. My productivity started to get affected and, I realized that I needed to immediately create a structured routine for myself to stay healthy and present each day. I make sure I go to bed at 9:00 PM every night and wake up at 6:45 AM each morning. I no longer battle to wake up because my body has gotten used to my new sleeping schedule. Now, I have more energy and become more productive within the day.

Praying helps.

When I am going through something, or I received negative news. I would pray about the situation. Praying out loud about my problems helps me process and deal with what is happening. I immediately feel a sense of calm within myself after releasing my problem through prayer.


Control the number of negative people in your life.

I find it easier to get sucked into a negative mindset when I surround myself with people who are constantly obsessing over a situation without finding a solution for the problem. If you feel emotionally drained from a person after talking to them, then they are toxic.


Laugh.

Watch comedy shows or movies to change your mood. Laughter is the best medicine! Whenever I feel sad, I immediately turn on Netflix and watch my favorite series called good girls and, I am instantly in a better mood.


If you liked this blog, please give it a like and leave a comment below.


Comments


bottom of page