top of page

Meal planning for one!

My journey into discovering a simpler way to reduce waste and have a variety of meals.



Cooking for one does not have to be such a gloomy experience, when I started meal planning it changed my life completely. There were so many different benefits, I saved time when cooking and money because I was not spending unnecessary money on food items that I was not planning to use.


How to get started in meal planning with just a few easy steps.


Step 1 – Make a list of everything you enjoy making for the week.

You should add to the list each time you come across a recipe you like so that you have variety each week.

I put my list into categories so that I can have a general breakdown of what I would like to have for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.


Step 2 – Choose the day you go grocery shopping.

It creates consistency and gets you to make a whole day out of the trip. Make sure you don’t have any other commitments on the day. I find shopping relaxing so being rushed would just make the whole experience unpleasant.


Step 3 - Write out your meal plan.

Write down easy quick recipes so that you can see the ingredients you would need and what you could reuse for the other dishes you would make. I like to add 2 extra recipes just in case I change my mind. I am not extremely strict on my list because I like variety so I do not assign days to each recipe, but you can if you want a structured and detailed plan. I just roughly jot them down in number form so that whatever I feel like having for that day I just tick off.


Step 4 – Make a grocery list.

Write the ingredients down for each recipe. If you know the store, I suggest you list items according to the layout of the store so that you can navigate better through the store aisles.


Step 5 – Keep your meal plan list visible.

Find an easily accessible spot for your list I usually put mine up against the fridge this helps me when I forget what to cook.

Prep if you have time, you will have less to do when you cook.


Enjoy meal planning and good luck!


Please comment below if you have any recipes you would like to share, I am open to any new recipes or suggestions!


Comentarios


bottom of page