top of page

What I miss about South Africa since living in Vietnam.

Author Kim Rockman

Home is where the heart is and, my heart is proudly South African.

South Africans are very polite and, friendly people so when I moved to Vietnam, I really started missing that aspect since here it seems weird to randomly greet someone in public if they look at you. The gazing I get in Vietnam is uncomfortable. I will try to break the awkward stair with a polite hello but, most of the time, I would not even get greeted back and, they would just continue staring.


What I miss most is the accents and languages being spoken, especially slang from the Coloured community. We speak multiple languages not, only English, and most South Africans speak Afrikaans. Since I am from the Eastern Cape (Port Elizabeth) recently changed to Gqeberha, I mainly heard the Xhosa language spoken mixed with English. Zulu is also spoken along with the other 7 official languages.

The vibe when watching sports.

We love our sports and, singing the national anthem before the rugby or soccer match starts gave me goosebumps. It is sung with so much passion, it feels like all South African unites. Watching sports is an event especially, during the world cup, as tension and emotions run high and we start shouting and screaming at the television with passion.


Having a braai.

During the weekends or special occasions, we braai meat and socialize with family, friends. A braai is when one or more people cook meat on the grill while everyone enjoys snacking on biltong (dried meat) or peanuts, chips (Lays, Simba, or Fritos). The meats cooked are ribs, lamb chops, steak, or boerewors. We usually add side dishes like potato salad or roosterkoek which, is bread with any filling made on the fire.


Grocery stores.

Woolworths, Spar, and Checkers! has always been excellent with having a wide variety of food and drinks. The meat selection was outstanding, and you could always ask the butcher to cut off meat for you if they were not on display. Standing in a long line at Checkers was always entertaining because they would only have 3 till operators during month-end. While you are waiting for your turn, you hear in a far distance a random humming and singing from the person behind you or some child throwing a tantrum and the mother busy reprimanding them.


Eskom.

Load shedding is something I do not miss! Whenever I call my family, they either getting ready for a scheduled load shedding or the power was turned off without them knowing. Things are not getting any better and, our president has the luxury to worry about his iPad that got stolen on live television through his own negligence!

Beaches.

It is always a vibe during December and Easter holidays. People from everywhere go to the beach and, the traffic is gridlock, people are everywhere! They on the pier and the boardwalk taking pictures. You could feel the festive season and all the Christmas bonuses being spent.


Garage Pies.

After a late-night of partying with friends, we would usually stop at a petrol station to buy a pie at BP filling station, and you had to have a can of coke with your pie. We would sit quietly and eat while all the crumbs are falling everywhere in the car seats. Those late-night pies would taste like heaven and, my favorite was the pepper steak pie, oh how I miss that so much!


Open walkway areas.

Crossing the road used to be such an easy thing to do back home, but here it's like you taking chances with your life. I miss being able to walk on a sidewalk or going to parks that have open fields where people play sports or just sit and have picnics.

Drinkable tap water.

Drinking water from the faucet was safer back home, but here in Vietnam, the water is unsafe to drink and, I have to get bottled water delivered to the apartment that costs me money. Generally, you have to buy water wherever you go because they won't give you a glass for free you have to buy a bottle at the restaurants.

Please don't forget to leave a comment below. I would love for you to share your story with me!

Kommentare


bottom of page